Pakistan India Cricket News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Lahore ODI Pakistan vs India Cricket Series 2006

Feb 13, 2006     Discuss ODIs Discuss More
Lahore Cricket Ground
Toss: India won the toss and decided to field
Umpires: Asad Rauf, S J Taufel
Result: India beat Pakistan by 5 wickets

India Pakistan Third ODI

Lahore, Feb 13, 2006

START: India Cricket Live

Injured Sehwag, Harbhajan to return home

Indian opener Virender Sehwag and off spinner Harbhajan Singh will return home from Pakistan to recover from injury. Sehwag was ruled out of the third one-dayer against Pakistan on Monday due to a shoulder problem, while Harbhajan has not played in the series due to a finger injury. "Keeping in mind the volume of cricket in the near future, the team management, in consultation with the selectors, have decided the two players should return to India for rest and recovery," chief selector Kiran More said in a statement. India play England in a home series with the first Test due to start on March 1 in Nagpur. Mr More said Sehwag and Harbhajan should be fit for the England series. Meanwhile, Pakistan pacer Mohammad Sami has been called up to join the squad for the last two one-day internationals against India. Sami replaces fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar, who was sent home to recover from an ankle injury, for the last two matches in Multan and Karachi.

India Pakistan ODI Result

India Cricket Live Won: India

India takes lead at Lahore, Series 2-1

MS Dhoni who came in after the fall of Mohammad Kaif and his attacking strokes put Pakistan on the back foot. The wicketkeeper batsman shared a good partnership with Yuvraj Singh, and contributed to an emphatic Indian win. Sachin Tendulkar played a magnificent knock of 95, but Abdul Razzaq put Pakistan back on track by dismissing the master. In the next over, Umar Gul got rid of new man Mohammad Kaif leg before and soon India found themselves at 190/5 from 190/3. MS Dhoni joined Yuvraj Singh in the middle. Pakistan bowlers were very much on top in the beginning, but a fine partnership between Sachin and Yuvraj kept the Indian hopes alive. The left hander hit his 22nd half century in ODIs. Rahul Dravid got out when the score was on 84. Although he was giving Sachin good company in the middle, Rahul Dravid never looked comfortable and as the asking rate was climbing higher, he was eventually run out by a direct throw from Umer Gul who was fielding at mid on. Yuvraj joined Sachin to keep the Indian hopes alive after they suffered early setbacks while chasing 289 runs. Chasing 289 for victory India got off to a disastrous start losing two wickets in quick succession and India was 12 for two.
India won the toss and decided to field
288 for 8 (50.0 overs)
292 for 5 (47.4 overs)

Pakistan Innings
Salman Butt c G Gambhir b I K Pathan
2 0 0
Shahid Afridi c M Kaif b I K Pathan
18 2 0
Kamran Akmal c I K Pathan b R P Singh
47 6 0
Shoaib Malik c R Dravid b I K Pathan
120 11 1
Mohammad Yousuf c M S Dhoni b R P Singh
2 0 0
Inzamam-ul-Haq c M S Dhoni b S R Tendulkar
28 1 0
Younis Khan c M S Dhoni b R P Singh
23 3 0
Abdul Razzaq not out
56 7 2
Naved-ul-Hasan run out
9 0 0
Yasir Arafat not out
1 0 0
6nb 11w 5lb 22
for 8 288

I K Pathan 10.0 2 49 3
S Sreesanth 10.0 0 74 0
R P Singh 10.0 0 51 3
A B Agarkar 6.0 1 21 0
S R Tendulkar 10.0 0 52 1
Z Khan 4.0 0 36 0
Fall of wicket
0 Salman Butt
39 Shahid Afridi
75 Kamran Akmal
82 Mohammad Yousuf
128 Inzamam-ul-Haq
158 Younis Khan
244 Shoaib Malik
277 Naved-ul-Hasan

Zaheer Khan replaced Agarkar after 28.1 overs

Live Cricket

India Innings
G Gambhir
b Mohammad Asif
8 0 0
S R Tendulkar c sub b Abdul Razzaq
104 16 1
I K Pathan c Kamran Akmal b Mohammad Asif
2 0 0
R Dravid run out
42 4 0
Yuvraj Singh not out
87 10 0
M Kaif lbw b Umar Gul
2 0 0
M S Dhoni not out
46 13 0
5nb 6w 11lb 22
for 5 292

Mohammad Asif 10.0 0 47 2
Umar Gul 10.0 1 42 1
Naved-ul-Hasan 8.0 0 72 0
Yasir Arafat 9.0 0 53 0
Shahid Afridi 3.0 0 24 0
Abdul Razzaq 7.4 0 43 1
Fall of wicket
12 G Gambhir
12 I K Pathan
84 R Dravid
189 S R Tendulkar
190 M Kaif

Gul replaced Yousuf at start of innings

Live Cricket

Indian Team

India Cricket Live Indian Cricket Team: Final G Gambhir, S R Tendulkar, R Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, M Kaif, M S Dhoni, S K Raina, A B Agarkar, I K Pathan, R P Singh, S Sreesanth, Z Khan (sub)

Pakistan Team

India Cricket Live Pakistan Cricket Team: Final Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Yousuf, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Razzaq, Naved-ul-Hasan, Yasir Arafat, Mohammad Asif, Umar Gul (sub)

The Venue

India Cricket Live Gadaffi Stadium, Lahore Gadaffi Stadium is named after the Libyan leader "Gadaffi", who was very popular in Pakistan during the '70s. Located in the historical City of Lahore, Gaddafi Stadium was completely renovated during 1995/96 for the 1996 World Cup. Designed by the famous architect - Nayyar Ali Dada - who modelled it along the Mughal School of red hand-laid brickwork and arches, the new stadium is completely covered with seating rather than concrete benches. All-new air-conditioned dressing rooms with VIP enclosures equipped with TV also were added. The lower portion under the stands has been enclosed and converted to shops for boutiques and offices. This was the first stadium in Pakistan to be equipped with modern flood-lights which have their own standby power generators. Modern facilities for the media have been provided. No other cricket ground in the world matches the spaciousness of the playing area of this stadium and that it has the largest green field. Gaddafi stadium hosted the final of the 1996 World Cup, which was watched by over 60,000 spectators.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.